ART OF LIVING

Samo Candles Charlotte Breton
Charlotte Breton

Samo Paris

Samo, a project with many artistic collaborations created by Charlotte Breton, is now focusing on the creation of scented candles

Charlotte Breton, former photographer/web designer, had set up her Samo project to exhibit artists online and propose illustrators' creations on different media. The annoyances and the time made, Samo matured during four years. The brand now offers scented candles for the home, always in close collaboration with illustrators. Developed over the years, and in constant evolution, they are made of a mixture of soya wax, rapeseed and beeswax. The designer also produces vegan models, made exclusively of soy wax, and will expand her range to include fluxes and home fragrances.

"Fashion is not my element, but offering t-shirts was easier to get started and promote illustrators. Little by little, I started making several decorative objects. Including candles, which I had already been making for a long time for my personal use, and always in collaboration with illustrators. I created a lot of objects while stopping the gallery because it was too complicated. Recently, I realized that what was most interesting and pleasing to me were the candles. »

SAMO candles
SAMO candles
SAMO candles
SAMO candles
SAMO candles
Samo is a brand in constant evolution

For Charlotte Breton, Samo has followed a real evolutionary process. Indeed, during these four years of existence, "every time something negative happened, it made me progress. In particular, I had problems that made me lose a lot of money. »

The entrepreneur does not hide having already thought about quitting, business creation is often full of obstacles! "In these moments of great strides and big decisions, I thought to myself, "Either I close the box, or I do something else. Each time, I regained my courage with both hands, thinking to myself, "Come on! We keep going and we're just going to make smart progress. "» »

Today, Samo is a brand of handmade candles by their creator, "Everything is done in my workshop. Before we had one in a shop with a friend, but the quantities were getting too large. I temporarily reassembled the workshop in my living room! »

Charlotte Breton works with only one supplier who buys her perfumes in the famous city of Grasse. "He offers me the basic smells, like fig. But I mix them myself: for example, we have an oriental smell. It is a mixture of cedar, hazelnut and honey. »

SAMO candles
Illustrated candles

One of Samo's distinctive elements is the intervention of illustrators on the packaging of candles. Colourful, stylized, they have never deserved their status as decorative objects more than they do now.

« On the next collections, there will only be one or two illustrators, so that their style will be a little more present. On this winter's collection, I had given them a theme that was "Ode to the woman". There had been the MeToo movement, where women were always referred to as victims. I wanted to show exactly the opposite, some of them unfortunately are, but they are not just that. There are women who have made history, who have said exactly what they meant. And that advance our female population. »

SAMO candles
"I am happy to be where I am, and to finally do something that makes me happy and makes me want to get up in the morning. I have my own company, yes it's complicated, but I feel like I've gotten where I wanted to be. »

Despite past disappointments, its place is now in the scents: candles, fluxes and home fragrances under development. A new range will be released at the beginning of December 2018: "candles made with leather found at "la réserve des arts", but also pieces with simpler and more neutral colours such as cork. ", to enjoy yourself all year round.

ART DE VIVRE

Samo Bougies Charlotte Breton
Charlotte Breton

Samo Paris

Samo, projet aux nombreuses collaborations artistiques crée par Charlotte Breton, se concentre aujourd’hui sur la création de bougies parfumées

Charlotte Breton, ancienne photographe/web designer, avait monté son projet Samo pour exposer des artistes en ligne et proposer des créations d’illustrateurs sur différents supports. Les contrariétés et le temps faisant, Samo a mûri durant quatre années. La marque propose désormais des bougies parfumées pour la maison, toujours en étroite collaboration avec des illustrateurs. Élaborées durant des années, et en constante évolution, elles sont faites d’un mélange de cires de soja, de colza et d’abeille. La créatrice produit également des modèles vegans, composés uniquement de cire de soja et va étendre sa gamme à des fondants et des parfums d’intérieurs.

« La mode n’est pas mon élément, mais proposer des t-shirts était plus simple pour se lancer et promouvoir les illustrateurs. Petit à petit, j’ai donc commencé à faire plusieurs objets de décoration. Dont des bougies, que je faisais déjà depuis longtemps pour mon usage personnel, et toujours en collaboration avec des illustrateurs. J’ai créé plein d’objets tout en arrêtant la galerie parce que c’était trop compliqué. Récemment, je me suis rendu compte que ce qui était le plus intéressant et ce qui me faisait le plus plaisir, c’étaient les bougies. »

Samo Bougies
Samo Bougies
Samo Bougies
Samo Bougies
Samo Bougies
Samo est une marque en évolution constante

Pour Charlotte Breton, Samo a suivi un véritable processus évolutif. En effet, durant ces quatre ans d’existence, « à chaque fois qu’il s’est passé quelque chose de négatif, ça m’a fait avancer. J’ai notamment eu des problèmes qui m’ont fait perdre beaucoup d’argent. »

La créatrice ne cache pas avoir déjà avoir pensé à arrêter, la création d’entreprise est souvent semée d’obstacles ! « Dans ces moments de grand pas et de grosse décision, je me disais « Ou je ferme la boite, ou je fais autre chose ». À chaque fois, j’ai repris mon courage à deux mains, en me disant « Bon allez ! On continue et on va juste faire évoluer intelligemment. » »

Aujourd’hui, Samo est une marque de bougies faites à la main par leur créatrice, « Tout est fait dans mon atelier. Avant nous en avions un dans une boutique avec une amie, mais les quantités devenaient trop importantes. J’ai provisoirement remonté l’atelier dans mon salon ! »

Charlotte Breton ne travaille qu’avec un seul fournisseur qui se procure ses parfums dans la réputée ville de Grasse. « Il me propose les odeurs de base, comme la figue. Mais je fais les mélanges moi-même : nous avons par exemple une odeur orientale. C’est un mélange de cèdre, de noisette et de miel. » 

Samo Bougies
Des bougies illustrées

L’un des éléments distinctifs de Samo est l’intervention des illustrateurs sur le packaging des bougies. Colorées, stylisées, elles n’ont jamais autant mérité leur statut d’objet décoratif.

« Sur les prochaines collections, il n’y en aura qu’un ou deux illustrateurs, pour que leur style soit un peu plus présent. Sur la collection de cet hiver, je leur avais donné un thème qui était « Ode à la femme ». Il y avait eu le mouvement MeToo, où les femmes étaient toujours désignées comme des victimes. Je voulais montrer exactement l’inverse, certaines le sont malheureusement, mais elles ne sont pas que ça. Il y a des femmes qui ont fait l’histoire, qui ont dit exactement ce qu’elles voulaient dire. Et qui font avancer notre population féminine. » 

Samo Bougies
« Je suis contente d’être là où je suis, et de faire enfin quelque chose qui me fait plaisir et me donne envie de me lever le matin. J’ai mon entreprise, oui c’est compliqué, mais je sens que je suis arrivée là où je voulais être. »

Malgré les déconvenues passées, sa place est désormais dans les senteurs : des bougies, des fondants et des parfums d’intérieur en cours de conception. Une nouvelle gamme sortira début décembre 2018 : « des bougies faites avec des cuirs trouvés chez « la réserve des arts », mais aussi des pièces avec des couleurs plus simples et neutres comme du liège. », pour se faire plaisir tout au long de l’année.